<strong>Si</strong><span>mplification: A Respirable Crystalline Silica Overvie</span><span>w</span>
Home > Resources > Webinars > Simplification: A Respirable Crystalline Silica Overview

Simplification: A Respirable Crystalline Silica Overview

2 December 2020

 

Time: 10 am (PT) | 12 pm (CT) | 1 pm (ET)
Instructor: Lee Poye, Eurofins Built Environment J3 Resources
Cost: Free
Description:
With the recent release of OSHA’s New Crystalline Silica Dust Rule, employers are looking to ensure that they are in compliance with the new standard. This presentation will discuss respirable crystalline silica as it relates to the Industrial Hygiene industry and worker safety. The presenter will walk through the structure of crystalline silica, generation of silica dust, health effects of inhalation, and individuals at risk for exposure. Following the initial introduction, the presentation will discuss current regulations, sampling processes, and laboratory analytical procedures. 
Instructor:
Mr. Lee Poye is the Vice President of Eurofins Built Environment J3 Resources. He has thirty years of lab experience to the analysis of tissue, bulk, air, water, and dust samples for asbestos by electron and light microscopy. Proficient in the utilization of TEM, SEM, PLM, PCM, XRD, EDS, and SAED in the identification and documentation of asbestos and other elongated mineral particles.
For the following organizations, technical contact hours may be eligible for re-certification points:
ABIH http://www.abih.org/
ACAC https://www.acac.org/
BCSP https://www.bcsp.org/
BCRSP https://www.bcrsp.ca/